Top 3 Biggest Real Estate Listing Agent Pet Peeves

I usually don’t rant about things, but lately, I’ve noticed some lack of work ethics from some Listing Agents that are starting to annoy the hell outta me.  When I see things like this, it irks me to no end.  I mean, really?  Who does this?

Here are my top 3 biggest Listing Agent pet-peeves (in no particular order).

Image

1. The Listing Agent that does not answer his/her phone.   I have a client looking to purchase a home in Carlsbad.  On Monday, I found a home she would be interested in so I call the listing agent to get more information about the property.  No answer.  I  leave a detailed message.  No reply.  I send a text.  No answer.  I send an email.  No answer.   We decide to go take a look at the place, because it does show as active on the MLS.  She likes the home.  She actually wants to write an offer but has a couple of questions that she wants me to ask before we send over an offer.  I call the agent again, no answer.  I text the agent, no answer.  I email the agent, no answer.  I won’t bore you with Tuesday, it’s just a repeat of Monday’s phone, text, and email saga.  Here we are Wednesday and I still haven’t heard from this listing agent.  My voice mail today said “Hi, this is Steven Torres, I have left you several messages, emails and texts.  My client is very interested in this property, however we have a couple of questions and we have not heard from you.  If I do not hear from you today, I will assume you do not want to sell this home.  Please call me, once again, my number is (760) 586-0854”.  This agent is doing a huge disservice to his client.

2.The Listing Agent who doesn’t write a good description of their listing.   I am not asking for much when I read listing descriptions. I just want to be able to tell my clients what the home has to offer.  When I write up my listings, I always spend a good amount of time writing out a description about each room, including the front and backyard, the garage and the surrounding area.  I want to give a potential buyer enough information about the property to get them to preview the property. I have seen descriptions that are so poorly written, I have no idea what the Listing Agent is trying to convey.  Some descriptions only say “Motivated Seller”.  Really?  How about telling me about the open floor plan, or if the home has anything that my client may want?  Since there was no photo of the backyard, does it have a nice size backyard?  Is it on a quiet cul-de-sac?  Some details are important.

3. The realtor who doesn’t take the time to add a good photos on the MLS.

While perusing listings and clicking on the photos, it always amazes me when I see horrible agent photos.  1. Either they didn’t have a walk-thru consultation with their client prior to listing 2. They are newbies and don’t understand the importance of good photos, or 3.  They just don’t care.  It’s sad to say, but some agents are on a mission to get a home sold fast and move on to the next one.  The irony here is, with photos like this, they will sit on the market much longer than if they had been toned down prior to putting the home active on the MLS.  Below are 3 examples of BAD agent photos:

Image

Either this seller owns a flower shop, or just really really likes their floral.  This agent did NOT do this home seller justice by giving them a “seller checklist” prior to getting the home ready for  sale. 

Image

I think either this agent was too lazy to get out of the car to take a proper photo, or they hadn’t gotten out of their pj’s yet.  In either case, this photo just screams “I don’t care enough to take an excellent photo of your home”.

Image

Unless you are a die-hard Duck Dynasty fan, this photo would probably turn most people away.  For instance, my sister-in-law is in the market, she is a vegetarian and animal lover.  This home may have the lay-out and neighborhood she is looking for, it may even be a home that she would want to write an offer on.  But I guarantee, if she saw this room, this home would turn her off immediately.  I can’t believe the agent didn’t tell his/her client to “tone down” a bit.  

I still haven’t heard from that Listing Agent regarding that Carlsbad house…

4 thoughts on “Top 3 Biggest Real Estate Listing Agent Pet Peeves

  1. Here is another one. Make sure your client knows to work through their listing agent/realtor. You never know what a seller will do without your knowledge.

  2. Pingback: How to Fail at Email Replies | Small Town PR

Leave a comment